Learning T3, Pt. 3 – The Library

I said nothing about T3 for a few weeks. Well, I was wrong. I’ve decided to stick to I6 for a current game, because I know how to do some tricky things in I6. But T3 is actually great.

Unfortunately, this may be hard to see because of all the manuals, not having a good, simple tutorial, and such a massive library. I am about 1/4th of the way through the Tour Guide (which I cannot seriously recommend, but if you want to learn T3 it is just about required. More on that later.)

However, T3 has a logic and beauty that programmers, and probably only mainly programmers, will appreciate. The design philosophy though is a tad debatable. Whereas T2 had basically only two library include files, but was extremely customizable by the game writer, T3 has numerous library include files (I have not counted them yet). It is also quite customizable by the game writer. But the overall philosophy is quite different. The parser itself is included in the library (so it can be customizable as well).

The philosophy change, however, goes even deeper than that. Everything but everything (including the kitchen sink) is in the library. The attitude seems to be why make the game writer reinvent the wheel? Let’s do the wheel for him/her. And templates are used which really cut down on coding. In fact, with templates, a T3 game could take as little time to write as an I7 game.  

The problem is, and it IS a problem, sorry, (I am getting negative feedback on the if-mud about carping, but I don’t like being censored), is for the game writer to KNOW something is already in the library. That something in the library already, there for use, maybe straight out of the box, maybe with only a little customizing. So the game writer is in danger, not a serious danger :-), but in danger of creating their own code to duplicate something that already exists.

I can’t speak as to structures yet, what T3 can and cannot do that way, but I think it can do just about anything any game writer would ever want. And I am not sure I will continue learning it – the learning curve is quite steep. But I suspect I will read all the manuals. I suspect I will read all of the I7 manual, as well. I cannot decide between the two systems right now and want to get a better feel for both.

However, I can say that T3 is probably worth the effort that went into it, singly and jointly. Now if someone would just write a good, simple beginner’s manual…

more people would be willing to tackle it.

Doe’s Course of Study to Learn T3 to come later. 

0 Responses to “Learning T3, Pt. 3 – The Library”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

