Printing the I7 Manual – A Work Around

Well, three posts one right after the other. I will try not to be so chatty in the future.

I mentioned the problem with not all examples not being “open” at the same time on the if-mud and found out that the reason why is each html page is actually 3-4 pages. For instance: one page with no examples showing, one page with the first example showing, another page with the first example not showing, but the second example showing. Huh. Some people were intrigued and may or may not work on scripts to combine pages so all examples will show at the same time.

Until then, however, if I was unclear, opening pages in separate tabs works. And using Firefox and an extension to print all open tabs, works. The problem is just that to print the examples one has to keep clicking examples and doing a select print. (Because they will not all “show,” be “open” at the same time.)

So a work around was suggested to me and I suggest it to you. Print the hmtl as html. But download the all text version and print out the examples from that. Still tedious, but I suspect (although I haven’t tried it yet), less tedious. One still has to correlate the examples to the pages, but I suppose the numbering system will make that not TOO MUCH of a chore. Who am I kidding, it’s still a chore.

Better than nothing, I guess. What would be preferable is if the I7 manual be created/reformatted to have all the examples visible at one time from the get-go. 

3 Responses to “Printing the I7 Manual – A Work Around”


  1. 1 dgarciaroger June 22, 2007 at 10:28 am

    “But download the all text version and print out the examples from that.”

    An “all text version”? Where is it? Thanks in advance.

  2. 2 doeadeer June 22, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    There is now an all text version on the Inform site, under documents.

    http://www.inform-fiction.org/I7/Download%20-%20Documents.html

    I think several things have been added in the last month or two that you might want to check out. Maybe there have been there a while, but I don’t think so.

  3. 3 dgarciaroger June 25, 2007 at 1:41 pm

    Thanks in retrospect!


Leave a Reply

